Little Changes … and getting Organized!

I’m trying to eliminate all the chemicals and nasties out of my home.  The thought of switching out all my products and food is daunting, considering how much STUFF I have and use on a daily basis.  I created a simple checklist in a notebook so that I could see it all on paper.  It was much easier to see everything I use rather than try to think about it.  I didn’t want to miss anything or to continue feeling overwhelmed about all of the stuff I need to replace.  I’ve been making small changes here and there and wanted to get a good look at my progress so far and see what else needed replacing.  After doing this checklist, I realized that I don’t use as much stuff as I thought I did, and that I was well on my way to reaching my goal. 

Then I created a “fancy excel” checklist to keep around to check off items as I go… see what I have replaced so far and what I still need to do my research on.  This checklist below is an example of our personal bath products.  I’ll also create one for kitchen and cleaning products.  Food might be more difficult because we all eat so many different things, but a checklist with the basics will be a great way to start. 

You can make small changes, one thing at a time, and know you’re headed in the right direction.  I’ve found myself picking things I’ve never considered before and enjoying this new adventure.  I almost feel like I’m in a different country trying to navigate the foreign products.  It has been fun and I know in the meantime, that I’m doing a great thing for my family!

Next up… diapers and wipes.  I just received my trial package of diapers and wipes from the Honest Company.  I am very excited to see how they hold up on my 17 month old!  Another great resource is foodbabe.com, she has a list of natural products that I’m really excited to try.  

This entry was posted in Infant Care, Personal Products. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment