Take the stink out of your bathmat

A few weeks ago, my 9 year old and I were looking for a new bathmat for his tub. We went to Target and I grabbed a mat, naturally motivated by look and price. The one I picked was really cute but had a really strong stinky smell to it. Then it dawned on me, I’ve always just bought these things without thinking about what they are made of. What is a bathmat made of… and what about my fun bath rugs, shower curtains, towels and washclothes? You know… those things we sit on, step on, rub on our skin to dry off, something that has close contact with our skin every day.

Because my internet connection is worthless at stores, I couldn’t use my trusty apps and do any research right there. And there really wasn’t any information or labels on the mats to tell us what these things are made of, or a way to understand what was good or bad for you. So we relied on our trusty noses and picked a bathmat that was the least smelly, not the prettiest or cheapest, but one that didn’t make us go “ewww!”. It was a funny task to do with my son and it was probably a good lesson for him as well. The one we ended up with looked like something I would see at my grandmother’s house, but at least it wasn’t stinky. And it’s starting to grow on me.

We needed a new mat that day, so we grabbed one that was maybe the “less evil mat”, but I still wanted to find out if there is a better option for our bathroom products. Like I’ve been doing with everything around my house and kitchen, I did my due diligence on my bathroom. Below is a list of the products that I found to be some good options.

Next time you need to replace your mats, rugs, shower curtains, towels, switch out to something with less chemicals, that is made with more natural products, like organic cotton or bamboo. Sounds nicer than PVC or polyethylene for a bathroom anyway. And smells nicer too!
This entry was posted in Personal Products. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

