Happy Face

smile_wink

What is the impact of diet on our health? Is there a direct connection?
Can the food that we eat activate a virus that usually lies dormant in our bodies?

 

If you suffer from cold sores or fever blisters and have frequent outbreaks, it’s possible that your diet might have something to do with it.  I believe that we can manage our illnesses through diet. When I switched up my diet a few years ago to include more veggies, fruits, nuts, and whole grains, I noticed more outbreaks. The frequency was up to every other month. I did some research on this and there were some people that recommended avoiding certain foods… which led me to wonder, how much of an impact does diet have on the frequency of outbreaks?

 

Foods high in the enzyme arganine can activate this virus while foods that contain lysine will help prevent outbreaks. I created a tool that allows us to see the ratio of lysine to arganine in the foods we eat.* In using this search tool, when you see a red angry face, the food is high in arganine, a green happy face, the food is high in lysine.

 

I’m not a registered nutritionist or a medical doctor, I’m a web developer. I used my skills to create a tool that helps me everyday and will hopefully help you too. I hope that you find this tool useful in managing your outbreaks and that you can “eat yourself to a happy face”!

 

*The data on this website is sourced from a USDA database.Disclaimer:

The nutritional information on this site is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay seeking it because of something you have read on this website.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

